Thematic journeys of discovery

DISCOVER ÉTAPLES ON GUIDED TOURS,                                           SO YOU DON’T MISS THE ESSENTIALS

Visite guidée WEB

Throughout the year the Tourist Office offers a rich and varied programme of visits.

The tours are open to all and last about 1 hour 30 minutes.                                                              Rates 2017: Adult: €3,70 Child (4-12 years): €2,70. Limited places.

Among the successful themes:

Walk: “To the heart of the history of the fishing town”

Starting from illustrations the guide presents the story of Étaples from ancient times and takes you on an exciting expedition through the streets to discover the picturesque architecture of the fishing town and the key sites that illustrate its past: old buildings, outdoor spaces, fishing port…

Walks-2018: At 2.30 pm. Saturday, February 3. Saturday, May 19. Thursday, June 28. Thursday, July 12. Saturday, July 28. Thursday, August 9. Saturday, August 25. Saturday, October 13. Reservations: +33 3 21 09 56 94

Guided tour: “In the footsteps of the painters of the School of Étaples”

The collection of works of the School of Étaples (late 19th – early 20th century) has nearly 300 works by French painters who frequented our coast such as Henri Le Sidaner, Eugène Chigot and Eugène Boudin. It is also very representative of this cosmopolitan colony that welcomed foreign artists such as the Norwegian Frits Thaulow and the Australian Isobel Rae.

While waiting for that collection to be given a place of honour in spring 2018 in the future departmental museum of Côte d’Opale painters, your guide will evoke throughout the visit the inspiration of this community of artists: seascapes, tides, fishermen at their work, etc.

Guided tours-2018:  At 2.30 pm. Saturday, April 21. Thursday, June 14. Saturday, July 7. Saturday, July 21. Saturday, August 4. Thursday, August 16. Saturday, September 1. Reservations: +33 3 21 09 56 94

Journey in time: “Étaples in the Great War”

After an introduction with our guide at the Tourist Office, then take the path of silence to the military cemetery.                                                                                                                                         Étaples was unquestionably the main place for quartering British troops in the Pas de Calais during the Great War: 12 km² of training camp (the largest British camp in France). During periods of intense activity near to 100,000 sick and wounded were convalescing there in prefab hospitals. The authorities were also obliged to quickly create a military cemetery, the largest Commonwealth forces cemetery in France (6 hectares) with a total of almost 11,500 graves. Walking through this place of memory, your guide, who is passionate about history, will invite you to discover the origins of the site and its location, architecture, construction, etc.

Journey in time-2017: At 2.30 pm. Saturday, March 3. Saturday, June 9. Saturday, June 23. Thursday, July 5. Wednesday, July 11 (Visit in English). Saturday, July 14 at 10.30 am. Thursday, July 19. Thursday, July 26. Thursday, August 2. Wednesday, August 8 (Visit in English). Saturday, August 11. Saturday, August 23. Thursday, August 30. Saturday, September 1.  Thursday, September 6. Saturday, September 8. Thursday, September 20. Saturday, November 10. Reservations: +33 3 21 09 56 94

Other events

Exhibition «Gustave Souquet (1805-1867): scholar, man of letters, archaeologist and pioneer of photography». Saturday, September 16 and Sunday, Septembre 17. Within the framework of the European Heritage Days: +33 3 21 09 56 94

Lecture by Thomas Byhet about Gustave Souquet (1805-1867). At 3 pm. Saturday, September 16. In the auditorium of the Tourist Office. Free. Reservations: +33 3 21 09 56 94

“Archeology Great War”. At 3 pm. Wednesday, July 12. Wednesday, August 23. Gratuit. ree. Reservations: +33 3 21 09 56 94

Animations and historical reconstitution: visit of the city about Napoleon and his troops. Departure from the Tourist Office at 10.30 am and at 2 pm: Sunday, November 19: +33 3 21 09 56 94

It’s during that walk, a guided tour and journey on foot, that you will best immerse yourself in Étaples. Take the time to go in discovery of the authentic past of the town and its inhabitants, its mysteries and historic anecdotes.

Information and reservations:

Tourist Office of Étaples-sur-Mer

+33 3 21 09 56 94 or by e-mail: contact@etaples-tourisme.com

If you are part of an association, a club, a school… don’t hesitate to consult the Groups Service: tours can be arranged for groups on request.


<| Journey “from sea to plate”                                                                   Nature and discovery walks |>